Pre-Battle Against Atrophy

October 19, 2010

I have read a mind numbing pile of studies done on atrophy and here’s why; I’m having a tumor removed from my heel bone and my left ankle and foot will be in a cast for six months. For someone who lives to run, this is not good. Most studies of atrophy and muscle deterioration are done on people who have worn a cast for six weeks. This is the average time a person is in a cast from a fracture or surgery. I will be in one for 24 weeks. Here’s a summary of what I have learned will happen to my leg.

After 3 days atrophy will begin. By week six, I will have a 54% muscle loss. The protein breakdown that causes this deterioration works on half-life progression. This means it is a slow decline up to the halfway point then it accelerates exponentially. To make it worse, the atrophy and muscle loss does not stop when I get the cast off, it continues until I get my full range of motion back. I have read posts from several people who have had injuries and or surgery similar to mine. They report taking six months to get rid of their limp, due to atrophy, and two or three years of PT only to find they may never run again. I will not settle for this outcome.

One advantage I have over them, they didn’t start their battle against muscle loss before the cast and did nothing while wearing the big hard boot. Here’s my plan: I will begin stretching and working my calves, legs and ankles more than ever. My theory is if I start off with monster calves when I get the cast, there may be something left six months later. I’ve been exercising regularly and consistently for years. It’s not like I’m starting from scratch. While in the cast, I will do isometrics several times a day on a regular basis. Yeah, I know this will not stop my muscles from deterioration but it should slow it down. Along with the isometrics, I will use electronic muscle stimulation. This will help keep the nerves functioning and help some with the battle against muscle loss. Studies have shown that exercise in general it helps retard the deterioration even if the exercise is not in the area of atrophy. So, I plan on continuing to lift weights and convert my runs into swimming workouts.

I know when the day comes I get the cast off, I’m going to have this thin rail of a lower leg and an ankle that no longer works. But, my plan is to be running again in less than year from that day. What makes me think I can recover faster than everyone else? It’s easy, I’m über-human.

Leave a comment